Thursday, October 14, 2010
Speed Up Rendering in After Effects - Tips
If you press "Caps Lock" button in rendering queue window, After Effects will not waste processor's time on refreshing preview screen every frame. The conclusion is to safe counting power during rendering. It gives good result in many cases and speed up rendering. I recommend this way of working with AE.
Labels:
After Effects,
Speed up rendering
Saturday, October 9, 2010
CodeRetreat Wrocław 2010
I was asked for designing web site for my mate. It was for Code Retreat event in Wroclaw. It's coming soon and starts at October 23. If you are programmer and would like to participate in that project you can sing in for free. I prepared layout and cut it, also write html and css template. I drew also art for t-shirt (those two geeks in top) and it will be printed as logo of CodeRetreat event.
Labels:
CodeRetreat,
Web Designing
Thursday, September 30, 2010
EXP is UP
I'm working on intro to tv commercial I would like to share with one still frame from it. Explosive stuff. Frame straight from After Effects. Blown title was made in 3D software.
Labels:
After Effects,
Explosive
Sunday, September 19, 2010
Friday, September 3, 2010
Thursday, September 2, 2010
Nokia 2700
This time Nokia 2700 Classic. Model was made in Maya and rendered with Vray. It was my first attempt to vray engine. Model is for tv commercial and render as personal project for my own.
Labels:
Maya,
Nokia 2700,
Vray
Sunday, August 29, 2010
LG LD550
Model of LCD TV which I did for commercial tv production. I modeled it in Maya 2011 and rendered in Bunkspeed Hypershot. I started playing with RT (real time) renderers. It's awesome stuff.Design and postproduction in photoshop. That's my personal creative and self-developing project.
Labels:
Bunkspeed RT,
LG LD550,
Maya
Tuesday, August 10, 2010
Sunday, July 25, 2010
VFX Project
I'm writing my master diploma project and I did some reference to my old project which I realized with my colleague from university.
I thought it's nice to refresh it and post to blog some information about that project. I was first attempt to VFX in life-footage. Below are screens and breakdowns from production and final movie.
I was responsible for FX which I did in After Effects and 3ds Max as well I cleaned footage a bit and painted some elements in Photoshop. Further more I animated the robot in second scene and put everything together at the end.
Project was did as a semester's project in University. Everything maybe it's not so much perfect but I learnt a lot.
I thought it's nice to refresh it and post to blog some information about that project. I was first attempt to VFX in life-footage. Below are screens and breakdowns from production and final movie.
I was responsible for FX which I did in After Effects and 3ds Max as well I cleaned footage a bit and painted some elements in Photoshop. Further more I animated the robot in second scene and put everything together at the end.
Project was did as a semester's project in University. Everything maybe it's not so much perfect but I learnt a lot.
Labels:
3ds Max,
Adobe Premiere,
After Effects,
Photoshop,
VFX
Wednesday, July 21, 2010
Monday, July 19, 2010
Audi A4
I finished my second car ever made finally. This one is Audi A4 B5 (1995-200). I did all in Maya 2011 from modeling, materials and lighting to render in Mental Ray. I would like to thank to Piotr Koczan for his help and supervising me in production of that Audi.
Labels:
Audi A4,
CG Car,
Maya,
Mental Ray
Thursday, July 1, 2010
Speed Up Rendering in After Effects using GPU
Lastly I found good way to increase speed of rendering and preview in After Effects CS. Since After supports OpenGL and using GPU for many things it gives great opportunity to be faster and more efficient.
Here are few steps that you should know to use that feature.
To use OpenGL in After Effects, you’ll need an OpenGL card that supports OpenGL 2.0 and has Shader support and support for NPOT (Non Power of Two) textures.
OpenGL in After Effects supports the following features:
To enable OpenGL for rendering final output, click the underlined text next to Render Settings in the Render Queue panel, and select Use OpenGL Renderer.
To enable OpenGL for rendering previews, choose Edit > Preferences > Previews (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Previews (Mac OS), and select Enable OpenGL.
To see what features your OpenGL card supports, choose Edit > Preferences > Previews (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Previews (Mac OS), and click OpenGL Info.
To modify the amount of texture memory, choose Edit > Preferences > Previews (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Previews (Mac OS), click OpenGL Info, and enter a value for Texture Memory of no more than 80% of the installed video RAM (VRAM) on your video card.
Here are few steps that you should know to use that feature.
Render with OpenGL
OpenGL is a set of standards for high-performance processing of 2D and 3D graphics for a wide variety of applications. For After Effects users, OpenGL provides fast, high-quality rendering for previews and final output by moving rendering from the CPU to the OpenGL hardware (GPU).To use OpenGL in After Effects, you’ll need an OpenGL card that supports OpenGL 2.0 and has Shader support and support for NPOT (Non Power of Two) textures.
OpenGL in After Effects supports the following features:
- Shadows, except point light shadows (Colored shadows appear gray.)
- Lights (eight maximum)
- Masks
- Alpha channels
- Track mattes
- Intersecting layers
- Transformations for 2D and 3D layers
- GPU-accelerated effects, including Alpha Levels, Bevel Alpha, Box Blur, Brightness & Contrast, Channel Blur, Color Balance, Color Balance (HLS), Curves, Directional Blur, Drop Shadow, Fast Blur, Find Edges, Gaussian Blur, Hue/Saturation, Invert, Noise, Radial Blur, Ramp, Sharpen, and Tint.
- All blending modes except Dissolve and Dancing Dissolve
- Metal property settings for 3D layers
- Cone feather settings for light layers
- 2D motion blur
- Adjustment layers
- Anti-aliasing
Turn it on
When OpenGL does not support a feature, it simply renders without using that feature. For example, if your layers contain shadows and your OpenGL hardware does not support shadows, the output will not contain shadows.To enable OpenGL for rendering final output, click the underlined text next to Render Settings in the Render Queue panel, and select Use OpenGL Renderer.
To enable OpenGL for rendering previews, choose Edit > Preferences > Previews (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Previews (Mac OS), and select Enable OpenGL.
To see what features your OpenGL card supports, choose Edit > Preferences > Previews (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Previews (Mac OS), and click OpenGL Info.
To modify the amount of texture memory, choose Edit > Preferences > Previews (Windows) or After Effects > Preferences > Previews (Mac OS), click OpenGL Info, and enter a value for Texture Memory of no more than 80% of the installed video RAM (VRAM) on your video card.
Summarizing
In my case I have real time preview and rendering time was 3 times more faster than when using CPU. If you have opportunity to use GPU do this.
Labels:
After Effects,
GPU,
OpenGL,
Speed up rendering
Friday, May 28, 2010
Braun Silk Epil
It's been while since my last post but I was very busy because work. I did some models for commercial tv production. I did animation of models as well but I didn't have time to render them. I will post animation next time. It was modeled in 3ds Studio and render using Mental Ray. Lighting is HDRI. Color correction in Photoshop.


Labels:
3ds Max,
Braun Silk Epil,
Mental Ray,
Xantus S. A.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)











